Share This Article:

Economic Definition of Federal Reserve Districts. Defined.

Offline Version: PDF

Term Federal Reserve Districts Definition: The 12 geographic areas of the United States that form the administrative division of the Federal Reserve System. Each of the 12 Districts is headed by a Federal Reserve District Bank and is generally designated by the Reserve Bank City--Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Cleveland, Richmond, Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Kansas City, Dallas, and San Francisco. Federal Reserve Branch Banks are located in 10 of the 12 Districts.


« Federal Reserve District Bank | Federal Reserve note »


Alphabetical Reference to Over 2,000 Economic Terms